Using Affirmations to Change Thoughts

I once found a chart online that had a number of affirmations for each chakra. These affirmations were aimed at balancing each chakra and healing them. This is done by changing limiting beliefs that can be associated with stagnation and blockages in each chakra. You may begin by sitting in a comfortable cross-legged position, wearing a loose-fitting yoga shirt and yoga pants or whatever is comfortable for you. Sometimes, if you are having trouble feeling the affirmation become true in your heart, you may find it beneficial to look in the mirror while repeating them.

Begin by saying the affirmation out loud. You may find on the first repetition the words seem like you are telling yourself a lie. That is okay. Repeat it at least three times or until you notice a shift in your body. Maybe you notice that the first repetition brings about a lot of resistance. My body would feel tight, and my mind would begin to quickly try to think of all the reasons why this affirmation is not true. I focused on the words and on the breath. By the third repetition, I found that my body would release. If you find you are still feeling resistance from the third repetition, continue until you feel your body and mind relax. Choose the affirmations to practice that you find yourself resisting most as they likely represent the area needed most for healing. It is often the lower three chakras that people are needing to heal the most–the root, sacral, and solar plexus.

The Muladhara (root) chakra is responsible for survival and self-preservation. If you are finding difficulties in your sense of safety, trust and love in yourself, this is a great chakra to focus on. The affirmations that you can choose from including the following:

  • I am connected to my body.
  • I feel safe and secure.
  • Just like a tree or a star, I deserve to be here.
  • I have what I need.
  • I nurture my body with healthy food, clean water, exercise, relaxation, and connection to nature.
  • I am open to possibilities.
  • I trust myself.
  • I love life.

The svadhisthana (sacral) chakra is connected to movements, connections, and our emotions. If you are experiencing difficulties in processing an emotion, either feeling blocked or over-emotional, this may be a good place to focus on. Some affirmations for this chakra include the following:

  • I love and enjoy my body
  • Emotions are the language of my soul.
  • I am at peace.
  • I feel pleasure and abundance with every breath.
  • I am open to touch and closeness.
  • I allow myself to experience pleasure.
  • My sexuality is sacred.

The manipura (solar plexus) chakra is the center of our will, our determination, and our confidence. If you are feeling blocked in your confidence in yourself or are alternatively overidentifying with your ego and role in the material world, this could be an area to focus your healing with an intention of balance. Some affirmations to practice include the following:

  • I stand up for myself.
  • I choose healthy relationships.
  • I feel my own power.
  • I am free to choose in any situation.
  • I seek opportunities for personal and spiritual growth.
  • I am worthy of love, kindness, and respect.

Through using these affirmations, you are not only rewiring your brain to believe these thoughts, you are also manifesting the future that you want and need. You are changing your thoughts and your destiny!

Leave a Reply